Bite me.

Hey guys,

That’s basically how I feel after reading all day. I’m re-reading The Hunger Games trilogy, mostly just because I can. I really enjoyed the Catching Fire movie, much more than I liked The Hunger Games movie. Can I just say that Finnick is adorable? I’m so pleased with the actor they got to play him. Also, those monkeys terrify me. Anyway, so after reading that all day it’s been hard to leave that world. It’s one of the stories I do not want to be in, unlike Harry Potter, because I would totally love that.

I don’t really have much to contemplate today, just because I don’t really feel like it? I am watching Wreck-It Ralph at the moment, so I feel like I should say something about how being yourself is awesome and super important. I do think it is important and it’s a value hugely underrated because of the media. Did you know family and church used to be the main sources of socialization in the United States? Well, media is now a huge source of socialization, which isn’t surprising when you think about how easy it is to access anything we want. In media there are always idealized images of people and things, and there’s always an outcry for that to stop, but why hasn’t it? I’d like to say corporate greed, but I’m getting old and jaded, and let’s be honest, not as informed as I should be. Unfortunately being uninformed is a general state in America, but we do have sort of have an information overload with all this access to it. I really don’t know what my point is here. The Hunger Games series is terrifying to me because I think America could definitely evolve to a state that reflects it. Entertainment is something so hugely valued that it could become a reality. I really hope it doesn’t and that at some point enough of those willing to fight for human rights and decent living conditions succeed.

Always,

-M

P.S. I need to focus more on God and less on me.

Leave a Reply

