I’m less intimidated when the judge has a just-rolled-out-of-bed look.

Hey guys,

Seriously, it is a lot less intimidating to stand in front of a judge and make a report when they have bed head and a skimpy looking beard. Don’t get me wrong, he’s a great judge, but it’s good to remember that they are people too.

I think we view authority figures as perfect, or at least ideal, people who don’t make mistakes and have the same feelings we do. Now, there are some that are so greatly criticized, but a lot hold a certain illusion in our minds. I know I do it all the time, and I’m guessing I’m not the only one. I can’t say that it helps to picture them naked or in their underwear, because I haven’t tried it, but it does help to meet them, or maybe just listen to them closely to pick up on the similarities we have, the flaws, anxieties, and anything else that might be present; such as bed head in my case.

People aren’t perfect, but some are pretty awesome, and some aren’t so awesome, so avoid them.

Always,

-M

P.S. Don’t let the muggles get you down.

Leave a Reply

