Happy New Year!

Well, not quite yet in some places… But I’m about an hour away!

What does a new year mean to you? For a lot of people it means making resolutions and hoping that this year will be better than the last. I will admit that I do hope this year will be a little better, but no year is ever going to be perfect. One year is not going to contain a new job, an awesome boyfriend, an amazing trip abroad, or any of the other things I want in my life. Would that be nice? Yes, of course it would, but I don’t think it’s the date that matters, it’s the progress. Where was I a year ago? Honestly, about the same place in terms of my job and going to school, except I’ll be graduating soon, so that’s different. Emotionally and mentally, I’ve changed, hopefully for the better. I’ve learned a lot in the past year, about friendships, relationships, psychology, technology, and a lot of other stuff. So, yes, when the clock strikes twelve my pretty dress and my glass slippers won’t disappear, but it will be a new year and while I hope it will be a good one, it’s not the date that matters, it’s the progress and the life that I live each day, no matter what year it is.

On a completely unrelated note, glass slippers are ridiculous. I was watching Cinderella last night, the version with Whitney Houston, Brandy (or is it spelled with an “i”?), and Whoopi Goldberg, which means the one that isn’t animated, and when Cinderella was slipping her foot into the glass slipper I couldn’t help but think that it would be hard to put a glass shoe on. Not only do glass shoes not bend or conform to your foot whatsoever, but without anything between the glass and your flesh, that has got to hurt! It’s a fairy tale though, so whatever, I’m a sucker for those anyway… 

Despite thinking that a new year doesn’t actually matter, I hope you guys have a good new year, and make it to wherever you go safely, I know it’s a night to party, so please stay safe, for you and for others.

Always,

-M

P.S. I had to tell my aunt’s cat today that he doesn’t belong in the microwave.

Leave a Reply

