I have that crazy cat lady gene.

I’m not kidding. My aunt is a crazy cat lady. I can’t say I don’t love her to death though, so it’s not a bad thing at all. I was able to get her to laugh today when I said she’s basically my future, and honestly, if I don’t get married, or my husband dies, I will probably end up being similar to her. She signs her cat’s names on cards, they have four different kinds of food, and basically have the run of the house. She is one of my favorite people though, and I’m very lucky to have her in my life.

I was going to title this blog, “shopping for a man”, but I felt like that was a bit abrasive or something, I’m not sure, it just seems wrong. Online dating is sort of a strange concept, because it basically is shopping for someone to be with, especially if it’s not free. You don’t like smokers? We got it covered! You’re a farmer? Well, sign up here! Seriously, there’s a dating site that is Farmers Only, I keep seeing commercials for it. You like buff guys? Just put it in your search criteria! You want a man of faith? There are several sites for that! You’re into weird stuff? We can find a match for you! Yeah, basically shopping for exactly what you want, but wait! If you’ve ever seen P.S. I Love You (ridiculously girly movie), you’ll know that women don’t actually know what they want! Secret’s out guys, we can all go home now and watch our favorite movie with a pint of Ben and Jerry’s, if you aren’t lactose intolerant, otherwise it might have to be Rainbow Chip frosting. I still don’t know exactly what I’m “shopping” for in a man, except that he has to have a relationship with God, not just claim to be a Christian, and I have to be confident that he’ll make a good dad. Goodness knows I don’t want children right now, but at some point I would like to have children. 

Besides the fact that dating sites are basically shopping for a mate, it’s really weird to not meet people in person initially. I know I have issues not being able to meet someone face to face before I get to know them. I’m not great with first impressions, but I know if I don’t like someone the first time I meet them, at least generally. That being said, I find it hard to talk electronically with someone without having actually met them. Sure, there’s pictures, but it’s just not the same. I’m not saying any of this is bad, it’s just different. Yep, online dating is interesting, and sometimes sketchy, but hey, all you need is that one person! Unless of course you’re depraved and just like to screw with people, and if that’s you, well, make sure if you ever find me on a dating site, don’t contact me.

I hope you guys had a great first day of 2014! It’s gonna be hard getting used to writing 2014 instead of 2013, like it is every new year.

Always,

-M

P.S. I think it would be cool to collect masquerade masks, the good quality ones, over the years, and then when I get married I would give them away as favors.

Leave a Reply

