What do you fear the most?

Besides Furbys becoming self-aware and taking over the world, of course, because that will happen sometime soon. Trust me.

Have you heard what acronyms for FEAR stand for? I’ve heard Future Events Appearing Real, and today I heard False Expectations Appearing Real. I think False Expectations Appearing Real is the more accurate one. Why? Because we fear unnecessary things quite often, I know I definitely do. I fear things I have no control over, which is frustrating. The pastor at the church I go to brought this up today, but I had been wanting to blog about it for awhile, because fear is an interesting creature. We do fear things, what we can control and what we can’t control, the pastor said it’s stupid to fear things we can’t control. I’m not sure “stupid” is the right word, but I haven’t found the right word yet, so we’ll stick with that, because really fearing and worrying about things we can’t control is a waste of time and energy. Unfortunately fear isn’t something you can completely avoid, if you can control the situation or not, so we do use some of our time being fearful of what is going to happen. I personally try to combat my fear with prayer, because if anyone can change the situation, God can, and I maybe can, but a lot of stuff is out of my control. I can fix having no friends (sort of), I can control what I’m going to do next in life, I can determine whether or not I will get fired. I can’t control plane rides, or other people, or the weather, or the natural course of life, so I pray about those.

But what about when we don’t automatically feel fear? What if our fear is hidden in anger, jealousy, sadness, or some other unpleasant emotion? Can it be hidden in happiness? Maybe, I don’t really know. Sometimes when my dad is being his curmudgeonly old self and going on about how angry he is, I have to keep in mind that he might be afraid of something, sometimes he’s just grouchy. I know I have hidden fears in some of my emotions. I’m upset with my friend who has been blowing me off lately, or at least it seems that way, and I’m hurt, but underneath that I think I just fear losing her, and her losing who she used to be, I probably fear not feeling like I’m someone who is worth making and staying friends with. When I’m driving and someone almost hits me, my automatic reaction is anger, but where does that anger come from? It comes from being afraid that I will be injured because this person made some random mistake while driving. I fear a lot of things in life, which is one of the many reasons I am grateful I have been raised to believe in God and continue to build that relationship, because He can do something about everything that goes on in my life. There was a quote on Pinterest that I saw once, I don’t remember what it said exactly, but it mentioned humans not having enough room in our lives for both faith and worry, and that we have to choose which one we want in our lives. I’m trying to choose faith right now, because worry gets me nowhere unless I can actually do something about it.

So, next time you get angry, or hurt, or whatever you might be feeling, remember to take a step back and figure out what might be causing it, and when someone in your life reacts in anger, remember that they may be feeling fear.

Always,

-M

P.S. I started a jar of all the good things that happen in 2014, today’s was about me fitting into some of my jeans again, which is exciting.

Leave a Reply

