You’re only perfect if you use a turn signal.

Yeah, that happened. Seriously though, it’s not that hard to use a turn signal. In reality though, no one’s perfect, and yet, we love people anyway, which is really awesome. While I was in high school I was a mentor for STARS, I can never remember what the acronym stands for, that taught about healthy relationships and abstinence to middle schoolers. One lesson was about what love means, and how in Greek there are several words for different types of love, the one I will always remember is “agape”, which is unconditional love. I find the idea of unconditional love astounding, because I think it’s a really powerful kind of love, and although I tend to think it’s probably pretty rare, I think that I am more privy to it than I think I am. First of all, God loves me unconditionally, which is still astounding and beautiful to me. I also have my mom, who I think loves me unconditionally, I don’t know how I would be able to know that for a fact, but life isn’t all about facts is it? Then I have my best friend who I’ve known since 2nd grade, which is a really long time, and we’ve been through a lot together and had our fair share of issues, but we’re still friends and we love each other, so would that be unconditional love? Or would it be one of the other types of love described in the Greek language? I don’t know, honestly. Love is an interesting thing, and I think overall, claimed too much. I love cinnamon roles, I LOVE those shoes, I love my mom, I love my cat, I love summer, I love my best friend, I love to sleep. There is so much in my life that I “love”, but do I really? I enjoy eating cinnamon roles, those shoes are cute, I do love my mom, I do love my cat, I like the heat of summer, I do love my best friend, I enjoy sleeping, though sleeping is debatable because it’s so delightful sometimes. I guess that’s why there’s several different words for different kinds of love in Greek, it makes it easier to distinguish and truly describe how you feel about something or someone. I think it might be time in my life to make a conscious effort to think about what I love and what I enjoy.

I won’t be blogging for a few days because I’m not taking my laptop with me when I go visit my best friend, but I’m sure there will be lots to say when I get back. Don’t miss me too much!

Always,

-M

P.S. In a perfect world disposable razors wouldn’t be a disaster waiting to happen. 

Leave a Reply

