Well, that was quite beastly of you.

Have you seen Beastly? It’s an interesting movie, I mostly only watched it because I was curious, somewhat bored, and it has Neil Patrick Harris in it. I was thinking about it the other day, even though I watched it like a month ago, and I was wondering what would happen to me in that situation. In Beastly, he’s cursed for a year, but in Beauty and the Beast he has a lot more time, though in a decidedly more remote region, so I don’t know which would be better. 1 year to change, while in a thriving metropolis versus 10 (I think it was 10…) years, but in a remote castle that nobody actually seems to know about. I was always confused by that. If the villagers knew about the castle, it doesn’t seem like it, at least not until they learn about the beast and then they know exactly where it is. Anyway, just sort of an odd moment in the movie. I don’t think that I treat people as badly as the people in these stories do, but it’s still interesting to think about that situation. If I was turned into someone physically ugly and had a year, or ten, to reverse it by getting someone to love me for the person I am inside, could I? I’d like to think I could, I mean, I have friends and family, though in these movies it’s always a love interest, so that would be difficult for me. I guess it’s one of those things where true love saves someone, which is not realistic, unless we’re talking about Jesus, in that case, love does save us. As someone who’s conceited, it would be very hard for me to be unattractive, and I don’t know how I would do that and that is a terrible thought. Would I be a candidate for the witch that decides someone needs to be taught a lesson about love and beauty? I hope not, I strive to be nice to people in general, though I don’t succeed always. It’s surprisingly difficult to look at the ugly part of myself that highly values attractiveness. 

Always,

-M

P.S. I bought the Frozen soundtrack today.

Leave a Reply

