A Once Upon A Time That Never Ends

Isn’t that a wonderful notion? I was listening to Pandora, my Disney station, and Once Upon A Time In New York City from Oliver and Company came on. That’s one of my favorite movies, partly because it has a cute little cat in it, partly because Billy Joel voices Dodger, and partly because it’s one of the Disney movies that emphasizes the importance of a different kind of love: friendship. I just really like that movie. Why do you think I named my cat Oliver? 

So what does a once upon a time that never ends look like? Does it look like finding your soulmate? Or maybe the love of a parent? Possibly the love of a friend? Or all of those combined? Maybe even something greater, like faith and a relationship with God? I don’t know the answer, but it’s a splendid thought, and it could be all or any of those answers. Of course we could go back to the question of what a “once upon a time” actually is and how in the world that inspires in us thoughts of romance and happy endings. Let’s break it down. Once, a fairly simple word, meaning that something happened one time, the dictionary gives us the definition as, “one time and no more”. Well now, how does that translate to this phrase? I don’t know. What about upon? Upon: “on”, literally that is the full definition. Oh, prepositions, how I loathed memorizing those in middle school, particularly because of the other people in the class who took WEEKS to get them memorized. Now? Meh, I don’t. So that brings us to time. What a beautifully abstract concept time is. We had to try and define it, by ourselves, in physics, no one was able to, but it is a very difficult definition to pin down. The dictionary offers up several definitions, one being, “the measured or measurable period during which an action, process, or condition exists or continues”, another, “a nonspacial continuum that is measure in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future”. Now, that is 1a and 1b in the Merriam-Webster dictionary. So, if we use the dictionary definitions and put them all together we get, “one time and no more, on a nonspacial continuum that is measured in terms of events which succeed one another from past through present to future” and then a story. Wait, what? The ramblings of a mad-woman, obviously. But seriously, that’s kind of an odd thing to say, “once upon a time, she did this”, or, “she did that”. I don’t think I really have a point here, other than it’s amazing how a four word phrase can evoke feelings of romance, wonder, mystery, and myriad of other things in us. Just four words and we know that something is about to happen, something is about to change, we’re being introduced to a character and a story, we’re going on a journey in our mind with someone we’ve never met, who has only been described to us, yet is completely our own. It’s quite beautiful.

Just four words. What is your once upon a time that never ends?

For me, I don’t know what it would be, but I think it would simply to be loved, cherished, and cared for, it could be by a family member, a significant other, a friend, or all of the above, I haven’t quite figured it out yet, but I can tell you that I’m looking forward to it. One of the amazing things about my once upon a time, is that God is writing it for me and I have yet to be completely dazzled by His wondrous works. 

Always,

-M

P.S. I apologize for not blogging recently. I got out of the habit of it fairly quickly after school started. It feels good to do it again.

Leave a Reply

