Who do you really worship?

I’ve been considering this blog post for awhile, but I haven’t found the time, and I am currently procrastinating even more on homework, but with Easter tomorrow, I think it’s appropriate. I am writing this from a Christian perspective, which means Easter is a pretty big deal, though I don’t feel like I can ever do enough to celebrate it. So, I would like to pose a question, as the title suggests. Who do you really worship? There are all kinds of beliefs in the world and each one has a different set of values and principles, but I will stick to Christianity because that’s what I know, though I respect other religions as well. After listening to a radio show complaining about spoilers to television shows, and a phone interview with a potential job site, I thought about how much time we spend watching television. Now, I’m not saying that I don’t spend more time watching television than I do in my thoughts about God, I just want to get this out, which is really what this blog is for. I spend several hours at work listening to my coworkers talk about all the television shows they watch, not creepily, it’s just how the office is set up, so I end up hearing everyone. When I first started working there it actually really freaked me out because they were talking about this girl getting raped and all this other dramatic stuff going on, and I was wondering why they’d be talking about such personal stuff about one of their coworkers, it turns out they were talking about a soap opera that they both watch, which was a HUGE relief when I realized that. Recently though, they have been talking about a whole bunch of shows, like two or three every day, give or take, and I just don’t know where they get the time to watch all those shows. I watch NCIS, New Girl, and sometimes The Big Bang Theory, though mostly after they’ve been recorded, which is great, but anyway, I don’t watch many shows and I still feel like I expend more time watching TV than I do anything else, which isn’t true, but it feels that way. Talking to the person I was having a phone interview with, she asked me what my hobbies were, and I said that I suppose watching TV is one of them, even though that is kind of lame, but she agreed that nowadays it is. People watch so many shows now that it is a hobby and something they have to catch up on and make sure they don’t hear spoilers about, it’s kind of insane, but I guess that’s the entertainment industry. Before I get to my clear, concise point, I’d like to complain about spoilers. I was listening to a radio show where they were complaining about people giving away spoilers, so they did a segment on the “rules” regarding spoilers and TV shows, which was stupid. Really? Your life revolves around it that much? I mean, I know I wouldn’t like it if someone told me something huge happened on NCIS, but most people know me well enough to know that I watch it, but I also watch it every Tuesday night at 7 pm, so generally I’m caught up. I understand frustration with people who deliberately spoil ANYTHING for anyone, because that’s just kind of a jerk-move right there, so yes, I understand that. I don’t understand not talking about shows around people just because they haven’t seen it, especially if you have no idea that they watch that show, it’s like we need censorship for spoilers now, except that is ridiculous! Okay, I’m done with that rant. 

Who do you really worship? Do you worship the shows you watch? Do you worship the books you read? Do you worship people? We spend so much of our time doing other things, that sometimes we forget about God, and I am as guilty as anyone. So this Easter season, this time of new life and resurrection, let’s think about the man who died for me, for you, for your family, for your friends, for your enemies, and let’s thank him for that. Let’s also remember that Jesus did that for us out of love, astounding love, and we don’t have to repay him, though I think we should live as he did, and extend love to those who need it most.

Always,

-M

P.S. I think that all the bad things you need to know about humanity can be found in what was done to Jesus on Good Friday.

Leave a Reply

