Must Love Feminism

Hey all,

I know it’s been a very long time since I’ve blogged, funny how life can get busy like that.

Anyway, after living in DC for a year and living in a house full of five other wonderful feminists, I am having a hard time knowing how to go back to my small town and be content with the lack of social activism there. I realized last night that I don’t have any males in my life who support the feminist movement, not my dad, not my brother, not any of my friends, and not my boyfriend, and that hurts. I don’t know how to deal with this. Do I just talk to them about it and hope they come around to seeing that it is important for everyone to be equal and share in equal opportunities? Do I just give up and love them for who they are? I don’t think that’s an option, actually, so I’m just going to keep arguing my case and being a feminist, even if I don’t get it right all the time. Also, guys, you can be feminists too, I know it’s a scary label because there are a lot of negative stigmas that go with it, but it’s for all of us, not just women.

I’m currently reading “Bad Feminist” by Roxane Gay, and thus far it makes me feel better that I don’t have all the answers or all the counter points and that I do have biases, some known and some unknown, and that’s okay. I am still working towards making the world a better place, one discussion at a time, no matter how frustrating it is for people to tell me that I’m wrong.

Thanks for reading, sorry it was so short.

-M

P.S. On my next dating profile I need to put, “Must Love Feminism”, inspired by the truly fabulous movie, “Must Love Dogs”, because really, both are pretty important to my mental health.

Leave a Reply

