The Practice of Life

Hey all,

Hope your Thursday went well!

Today I’m going to¬†write about motivation and adventures, maybe also a little bit about the mundane.

Some days it is work to get myself out of bed for work. It shouldn’t come as a surprise that working at Target isn’t fulfilling to me, and it’s utterly exhausting physically, so some days it’s truly difficult to get myself to go to work. I called in the other day, and I was feeling fine, other than being exhausted because I had just worked eight days in a row. I don’t call in if I’m feeling fine, I might call in when I could probably work but don’t feel great, but I don’t call in just because. Except I did last week, and I only feel a little guilty about it. I mostly feel bad because if I do it once, I might do it again, and I’m not that person and have never wanted to be that person. It takes practice and determination to get yourself to work some days, which I’m sure some of you can relate to.

In aspects outside of work, I don’t do so great. This kind of goes along the lines of yesterday’s blog, and re-inventing myself, but in a less grand way. I have to get back into the practice of caring for my body by eating right, exercising, and other general health stuff. I’ve chosen to start with flossing and using mouthwash every night. They say a habit takes two weeks to make and two days to break. I’ve been at my oral hygiene routine for two weeks, and I hope to continue it. I’m also trying to learn Spanish again, I took three years of it in high school and most of it didn’t stick. I still have “Puedo ir el bano? y como se dice _____?” So yeah, not much really stuck. All of the tiny baby steps I’m taking in my life to develop these practices is to make me healthier, physically, mentally, and emotionally.

I’m having a hard time motivating myself and putting into practice daily life giving habits, such as blogging. I’ve done it for a few days in a row, but that could easily be derailed by a super late bedtime or hanging out with a friend. In general I’m just trying to make my life a little bit more interesting than wake up, go to work, come home, and veg on the couch for the rest of the night before going to bed, and then starting the process all over in the morning.

Life takes practice, even in the mundane things, like flossing.

Always,

-M

P.S. Rose scented candles will always make me think of rainy nights during my volunteer year.

